Just got back from the Free Times show tonight. Even though it’s only been a few months since my last show, I tried to make the set as fresh as possible.

Here’s how:

1. Performance style: Played the entire set start to finish with no song breaks. Maybe some musical interludes but no idle chit chat(“I wrote this song for blah blah blah, when I was in my blah blah blah so I hope you enjoy blah blah blah -joke-.”). Got inspired to do this by Jurassic 5’s performance on KCRW(http://www.kcrw.com/music/programs/mb/mb030113jurassic_5/) where they rapped straight for like 20 minutes.

2. New cover song: Ever since seeing “Closer”(which I disliked), I’ve been a fan of Damien Rice. So I did the song from the movie…”The Blower’s Daughter”(http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x1df8_natalie-portman-dans-closer). Which is kind of ballsy since there are some crucial high parts that are a touch out of my vocal range. I’m actually pretty happy with how it turned out though. So to those who are keeping track, that makes my cover song list to the following: Clocks, Hi-Lo & In Between, Fix You and The Blower’s Daughter. I’ve also done The Scientist and Made Up Lovesong #43 at Open Stage nights. Covers are always fun.

3. Theme Night: I chose to perform my darkest songs and most melancholy songs. Which begs the assumption that eventually I’ll probably do an All Fun, Gimmicky and Upbeat songs night.

4. Bleak Finisher: Following from point 3 there, I ended the set with my newest and definitely most cynical and darkest song I’ve written. I’m hoping it resonated with the audience as was my intention by finishing the set with it.

So that was the night. I’ve never really blogged about a show before, not really sure why I’m doing so now…

By the way, I’m listening to Mojave 3’s recent session on KCRW’s Morning Becomes Eclectic archives. Man…there is absolutely no doubt that they’re my favorite band. Love ’em…just love ’em.

Wen

