Can a song have a sequel? I can think of two instances: Metallica’s “The Unforgiven” and “The Unforgiven II”(and the soon-to-be released “The Unforgiven III”) as well as Megadeth’s “Hangar 18” and “Return to Hangar” (yes, this folk singer knows his heavy metal). 

Of course, those song sequels were written by the original artists themselves. Last weekend I thought, “why not write a sequel to another band’s song?” Something like a cross section of a cover, a sequel and an original. So I barfed it out on the Sunday. Sorry about the analogy, but it’s apt. Songwriting is a funny thing; sometimes you’ll struggle with writing and expanding on a song idea for weeks and months and sometimes, it just flows out of you like…well…barf from a drunk(that’s the last of that analogy, promise).

I’m really excited and happy at how fast this song is coming together…got the chords, melody, lyrics and even the production done is record time. I think it captures the essence of the original song well and still keeps its own distinct Blue Blue Satellite flavour.

So I guess the big question is: What is the original song to which I wrote a sequel? Well, you’ll know when I post it up. But I’ll reveal this much: it’s a Coldplay song.

Blue Blue Satellite

