Collaboration has never really been my strong suit when it comes to songwriting. I’ve always enjoyed being in control of my own songs; melody, music, lyrics, what-have-you. Live, though, the solo act does have serious limitations. Sure, all the attention is all on you and only you…a perk that I can assure you is not lost on me, but sometimes what is lost is the audience. When I got my loop pedal it upped the ante some, but even then, over-use that and you risk crossing over to being like those ridiculous, yet hilarious, one-man-bands with cymbals between his knees and a bass drum strapped to his back. The singer/songwriter/circus act is not a niche I’d like to corner…

So all that being said, nothing really beats a good band setup. A few months back, I cobbled together a one-time-only band and we jammed with the ghetto-est of gear but once again, the music rose above! It was a thrill for me to hear Sister Rachel, my “single” if you will, with a full band setup. Then at an Open Stage recently, I got the host, who is also a drummer, play along with my newer song “Thieves”…he nailed it and once again, the seed of expanding the Blue Blue Satellite head count germinated…

So this Sunday, I intend to go back to the Open Stage and do Sister Rachel and recruit the full house band if possible. Even just the addition of a drummer is an epic improvement over beating on my guitar body like some kind of organ grinder monkey and then looping it with the RC-2. Looking forward to it…for the first time, Blue Blue Satellite will rock!

Blue Blue Satellite

